Chris Paul Named 2013 Sportsman of the Year

Chris Paul go to work against Tony Allen of the Memphis Grizzlies. Photo Credit: Jevone Moore/
  • Save
Chris Paul go to work against Tony Allen of the Memphis Grizzlies. Photo Credit: Jevone Moore/

All-Star Guard to be Honored at LA Sports Awards on March 5

 LOS ANGELES – The Los Angeles Sports Council has named L.A. Clippers point guard and six-time NBA All-Star Chris Paul as the 2013 Sportsman of the Year.  Paul will be honored during the 9th Annual LA Sports Awards, which will be held on Wednesday, March 5 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The LA Sports Awards are presented annually by the Sports Council to celebrate the greatest moments of the year in sports in the Los Angeles/Orange County area.

The Sportsman award is given to the local male athlete whose performance and character best exemplified the ideals of sportsmanship during the calendar year.

Paul led the Clippers to a 56-26 regular season record last season – best in franchise history – and led the league in steals for the third straight year. He also started in the 2013 NBA All-Star Game, in which he was voted the Most Valuable Player. In August 2013, he was elected president of the NBA Players Association.

The star-studded awards dinner and gala will be televised by FOX Sports West and Prime Ticket (air dates

TBA), and will include special appearances by many of the athletes, coaches and others whose achievements helped make 2013 such a memorable sports year.

The ceremony also will feature the presentation of the Sportswoman, Coach, and Sports Executive of the Year Awards.

Also, beginning Jan. 16, fans can help rank the overall greatest sports moments for 2013 through balloting at  Voting takes place until January 31.  A countdown of the Top 10 moments will be revealed during the show.

The LA Sports Awards is a fundraiser for the non-profit Los Angeles Sports Council, which will utilize the event’s proceeds to further its mission of promoting economic development through sports in the greater Los Angeles area.  For dinner ticket information, contact Monica Maldonado at (213) 482-6352 or visit

Previous Sportsman of the Year honorees are: Jonathan Quick, Kings (2012); Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers (2011); Derek Fisher, Lakers (2010); Pau Gasol, Lakers (2009); Kobe Bryant, Lakers (2008); David Beckham, Galaxy (2007); Elton Brand, Clippers (2006); and Matt Leinart, USC (2005).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.